Why the title?

Taste the Sea

A glint, a gleam, the hint of a seam

Connecting, correcting the crack.

The ocean, the massive, rejecting the passive;

Accepting, protecting the cast—

The cast-away from the pre-staged play,

Refusing, profusely the role

Of body as puppet, of life as a muppet,

Confusing, abusing the soul.

Adventurous journey, tumultuous turning

To travel, unravel the myth—

Expose the mystery of imposing history—

The sameness, the lameness of this.

My fistful showing of wistful hoping,

The standard I’m handed, a fake.

You say it’s a dream, I’ll say what I mean.

This cistern, this fissure, this lake—

I think that it’s frosting, I think I’ll be crossing

To some shore to find more of me.

So, I’ll dare the fray, I’m more scared to stay.

You waste it; I’ll taste the sea.

.

This poem holds a key element of my world view within it, and it is my title because, well, I like it.  It reflects what I feel about our society as a whole, and myself involved in it as an individual.  I feel that there is more to us, that there is this huge schism between what we are, and what we are supposed to be.  For myself, every now and then I get just a hint that there is a way across…a way to the other side where I am not divided.  This schism is like an ocean, and you cannot cross it on accident.  It accepts those who are thrown away, cast out because they will not accept the stereotypes they are born into, thrown into.  This is not an easy choice…it’s undoubtedly the harder route, but if I get there, maybe, just maybe I can show someone else the way – show someone that just because something has been does not mean that it has to continue to be – that the facade of meaningless patter thrown in front of us day after day is not showing us what life is really supposed to be about.  I cling to this idea, the idea that we can reach the other side, because I know that what we are told to base our identities on is a lie.  I’ve been called a dreamer and an idealist, but I know that to fight for this is more important than waking up and realizing I never made a solid choice in my life.  I may die a penniless nobody, but if I can take myself out of this aimless cycle that society puts us in, I will be richer than anyone else in the world, because I will have achieved my purpose, and it will be like tasting the sea for the first time.  I am a Christian, first and foremost, and I believe that this purpose can only be found by looking at the nature of the true God.  I believe that I find little pieces of it every day, but do not expect life on this earth to fulfill itself…we are meant for more than that.  Welcome to my journey.

 

4 Comments

  1. andy said,

    April 16, 2007 at 11:55 pm

    Hello, I’m andy. Wow lots of deep thought up there, I found some of your comments very interesting, one was about the ocean accepting those who are thrown away, but before I go on I need you to know that I’ve always had a problem with reading and writing since I was a kid and I find it hard to express my thoughts as well as I would like to. Now coming back to the ocean, the ocean also throws the ‘cast outs’ back after they are soaking with the essence of the ocean, so they can bring some part of the ocean to those who have cast out the ‘cast outs.’ We can see this in a different way too, like it’s said in christianity, to accept Christ we first have to die to the world, become new creatures transformed by christ, and then return to the world to be a little lamp of christ. So when we are cast out, I think Christ would like us to return to those who have cast us out and bring to them some of His essence. I am new to blogging, I started one last week and am still learning to work the different options. Bye, have a nice day tomorrow. andy

  2. zephaniah317 said,

    April 17, 2007 at 11:26 am

    Ever read “Waking the Dead” by John Eldredge? I think you’re saying a lot of what he talks about (and thus I talk about on my blog) in the book. There’s a whole lot more to this life, and it lies within our hearts, not without. Thanks for inviting me to the journey.

  3. February 28, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    […] Music My own post made me cry.  Yes, it did.  In a good way, though.  I went back to read my, “Why the title?” post and realized that I have ceased to enact it.  At least in my outward existence.  It’s […]

  4. Phina said,

    September 13, 2011 at 2:34 am

    Cool!!


Leave a Reply

