Squash

So, I have gotten my CSA  vegetables for the last three weeks, and it is just as exciting as I imagined.  I really must be an adult to be so thrilled every week about a gigantic box of vegetables.  And I mean gigantic.  I signed up for a half share, which is supposed to be a quarter bushel, but every week I go and pick up my vegetables, which are jam-packed full in a half bushel box…for those of you with poor math skills, that’s TWICE as many vegetables as I thought I was going to get.  Apparently, these guys are really generous.  I’m not complaining.  (I did ask to make sure I didn’t mistakenly get signed up for a full share so I wouldn’t feel dishonest.) 

Well, one has to get pretty creative in order to figure out the usage of a half a bushel of vegetables every week when one is not married or living with a family.  I find this to be a magnificent challenge.  This past week was a little easier because my boyfriend and I actually went on a vacation (hence the lack of posts), so I had someone else to help eat them.  However, it was also harder in a sense because we were camping, so I had to find ways to eat them fast enough for them not to spoil with no electricity.  I did bring a cooler with these great ice packs that keep stuff cold for approximately 3 days, but beyond that it was a race to eat the most perishable things fast enough.  I should tell you that I am sort of a crazy person about not wasting things.  I am not a pack rat about stuff, but when it comes to things you can use up, I will use it ALL up to the very last drop before I begin a new something else.  Leftovers beware. 

A great example of this was when I worked for a carpenter friend of mine…he needed brain surgery and was having a little trouble with his driving in the meantime, so I became a sort of carpenter chauffer, but he figured out I was not so bad at building fireplace mantels either, so I got put to work.  We were almost out of the standard screws we used for almost everything at one point, and he had bought another case.  Well, I unloaded it and brought it into his workshop.  I looked at the old box with some yet unused screws, and looked at the new box with its brand new ones, and crazy kicked in (just wait, you’ll see).  About a week later, my carpenter boss looked into the new, full box of screws and said, “Why is this Ziploc bag of screws in here?”  I immediately burst out laughing and could not even tell him I was laughing so hard because I knew it was completely ridiculous.  Finally, I managed to get out that I had put the screws from the old box in the Ziploc bag because I wanted to use them first.  It was the old Chick-fil-A philosophy coming out in me…I was indoctrinated with FIFO (First In, First Out) for those of you who have never worked in any food service capacity.  You should have seen my boss’ face when I said that.  He looked at me crazy, and immediately emptied the Ziploc bag into the rest of the full box. 

What does this story have to do with vegetables, you ask?  Well, this philosophy most definitely extends into my new vegetable venture.  Every meal, I look into my giant box of vegetable goodies, and think which of these can I use first in order for nothing to go to waste?  And when I go pick up my new box of vegetables every week, I make myself finish everything from the old box first.  This is very exciting for me.  Besides that, it makes me think of new and creative things to do with the different vegetables.  I have to say that it is definitely squash/zucchini season, and that these crops must be very prolific.  I have been getting other things, but nothing else really cook-able (more like greens and tomatoes and cucumbers).  So, when I cook, I am always trying to find a way to use my squash and zucchini.  This is a challenge because my boyfriend “doesn’t like squash.”  Or at least he didn’t.  I have cooked squash (and zucchini, but it’s basically the same thing, you know) every way you can think of.  In addition to eating squash raw as a vegetable dipper, I have cooked squash with sausage and squash with scrambled eggs and squash in a quiche and squash with parmesan cheese and squash with beef and mushrooms and rice and onions and squash with green beans and bokchoy and squash with kohlrabi.  (I got you on those last two, didn’t I?  Bokchoy is a green, and more common than kohlrabi, apparently often used in Chinese stir-fry recipes.  Kohlrabi is a root vegetable very like a turnip.  I haven’t met anyone who had heard of it before yet…except the lady who I pick my vegetables up from.)  Well, while we were camping, my boyfriend decided that he did like squash after all, but only when I cooked it.  I’m hoping that actually has something to do with my cooking ability and not with the fact that he decided he ought to get used to it if it was all I was going to feed him.  We get a newsletter with our vegetables, and this week on the back they talked about how much squash/zucchini we have been getting.  It said, “You know you have become a creative cook when you can repeatedly bring squash to the table without groans.”  Yay!  It doesn’t mean I’m a good cook, but at least maybe I qualify as a creative one.  And that’s my story about squash.

5 Comments

  1. zephaniah317 said,

    June 12, 2007 at 11:41 am

    Maybe it would help your urges to avoid leftovers if you saved some in case of an ambush… 🙂

  2. Mom said,

    June 13, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    I can think of another place you got that “don’t waste anything” philosophy from. I enjoyed reading about all the ways you’ve been cooking squash. I don’t like it either, except when it’s fried, so maybe you can try out some of your “unsquashy” tasting recipes on me one of these days.

  3. jody said,

    June 18, 2007 at 7:57 pm

    i have been dehydrating my squash…..it works very well! i have then taken it camping and added it to various meals….it works great! i think i am going to try squash chips next…..seriously!

  4. June 24, 2007 at 8:39 pm

    […] fell into more simple things.  I worked for a carpenter for almost two years, as I mentioned in my Squash posting.  I got a basic (very basic) knowledge of carpentry from this.  I could probably build […]

  5. July 10, 2007 at 1:44 pm

    […] along with the squash lasagna, we can now add squash tacos, squash soup and squash chips to my Squash repertoire.  I figured out it works very well in any recipe if you just treat it like the meat.  […]


Leave a Reply

