Wanta See the Basement?

Not so far in the distant past, I went to do a nanny job.  It was for a family I had not met before, as is the case much of the time, seeing how I work for a nanny service.  At this particular nanny job, when I got there, the mom was still getting ready.  The dad was out in the kitchen with me, and the TV was blaring the news pretty loudly.  It was discussing this truckdriver suspected of killing 6 people in 4 states.  After a moment, the dad said something to the effect of, “You know, I just can’t understand that – just driving around killing people.  That’s something I really can’t relate to.”  I said, “Well, that’s comforting to me.”  He laughed and said, “Yeah, like babysitter stories…’Wanta come see the basement?'”  He laughed again and said, “All the girls love the basement.” 

Boy, he sure knows how to put a babysitter at ease.  My first reaction to his statement (which I decided against, you know, for the sake of a parent’s comfort in leaving their child with me) was to say (with much sarcasm, of course), “Oh, I don’t know, sometimes you know, I can understand the draw to being a serial killer.  You know, on certain days.”  Is it really necessary to point out to the babysitter that you have no inclination for serial killing?  At least, that was what I was thinking.  I mean, it’s just like saying, “Just so you know, I’m not a serial killer.  I mean, I’m not going to kill you or anything.”  The need to lay it all out is, well, disturbing, if yet a bit comical. 

And our lesson for the day is: the more fervently you feel the need to deny all sympathy for serial killing, the more I start to believe you’re a serial killer.  And I’m definitely not going to see the basement.  Thanks, though. 

3 Comments

  1. Kris said,

    August 5, 2007 at 12:57 am

    I don’t have a basement… but I do have an outdoors storage room!

    Would you like to see that?

  2. August 6, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    You’ve been tagged by Jacqueline over at Real Life Unmasked™ for another little meme full of useless information about yourself! Visit my blog and follow the instructions.

  3. zephaniah317 said,

    August 8, 2007 at 11:15 am

    The only reason I’d want you to see MY basement is ‘cuz all my band’s gear is down there… 🙂


Leave a Reply

