Art Projects

It was pointed out to me recently that I seem to enjoy doing the crafty part of art projects more than the painting.  I started considering this, and realized it was true.  I have the most fun with my paintings when I am doing more than just using paint and a brush, like the time I put cheesecloth over the canvas before painting, and then pulled it off when the painting was done, so there is this cool criss-cross pattern on the painting.  I do project-type things a lot, I have realized…the art above my bed is a collage I made from a book of old movie posters, the art in my hallway is a garden trellis with Picasso prints mounted on wooden panels, and hanging from the trellis at various heights.  You get the point.  These are the things I really have fun doing. 

Like the time I wrapped the big bouncy ball I bought for my niece and made it look like a giant lollipop:

lollipop-ball.jpg

Or like the time I turned this couch:

brynns-couch.jpg

into this one:

brynns-couch-new.jpg

Or like the time I made a glass mosaic border with salsa jars & dressing bottles and built the frame for this painting:

entry-smallest.jpg

Or like the time I tied these bamboo sticks together with twine to make my dried flower rack:

flower-rack.jpg

Or like the time I painted this kids table & chair set for my boyfriend’s mom’s flower shop (although I discovered later that I need to research painting metal because it ended up all peeling off):

kids-table.jpg

My point is that I have decided that I should try to incorporate this type of thing into my paintings more, and I think they will be better.  That being said, I am working on a yet undisclosed project which I am super excited about.  All I will say is that it involves turning this trim (which is two different types & full lengths of trim if you can’t tell from the picture):

trim.jpg

into a super silver antiqued frame for a new piece I’ve been working on.  I’ll post a picture of the whole thing when I’m done.  It wouldn’t be the same to show you an unfinished work.  My duplex neighbor/handyman has been rebuilding the laundry room that we share on the back of the house…maybe he’ll have his mitre saw out so I don’t have to use my stupid plastic box mitre saw.  That would be fantastic. 

5 Comments

  1. zephaniah317 said,

    August 24, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    Too bad you can’t come to my church’s art show in October. (my band’s playing at it, too!) 🙂

    here’s a link:
    http://livingpalm.blogspot.com/2007/08/art-show-on-main-2007.html

  2. August 28, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    […] he was trying to sharpen his claws on the trim I bought for building my frame (as discussed in my Art Projects post).  This was, of course, dissuaded by me.  Then I had several sheets of tissue paper out, […]

  3. September 16, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    […] explanation of where the heck I’ve been.  This blog is supposed to be about my completed art project that I have so neglected in unveiling for you.  We have these quarterly art shows here that anyone […]

  4. shay said,

    October 27, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    ok was was used for the stem on the lollipop… this is such a good idea

    • tastethesea said,

      March 14, 2011 at 12:58 pm

      I used the empty wrapping paper tube…worked well with lots of duct tape!


Leave a Reply

