Have I Mentioned My Cat?

His name is Leo, and he’s kind of a character.  I think he’s pretty smart for a cat…I have to have child locks on my kitchen cabinets, because he knows how to open them and likes to get in there and sleep with my pots.  I don’t like furry pots – hence the child locks.  He goes on water strike if I will not put a pitcher of water on the floor for him to drink, even if he has a full water bowl.  I made the mistake of putting the pitcher down on the floor one day while I was watering my plants, and since then, he will not drink out of anything else, except sometimes the faucet in the bathroom sink.  If I take the pitcher up, he stands in the kitchen and meows when he gets thirsty.  Leo has had many close brushes with death, the most expensive scariest being his dog fight resulting in a collapsed lung and multiple puncture wounds.  He’s also had a severe allergic reaction to his vaccinations resulting in swelling to a size much larger than his already gigantic 16 Lb. cat frame, and he’s been stepped on, resulting in a broken leg and surgery to put a pin in…and follow-up surgery to take the pin out.  You get the point.  My “free” stray cat has literally had more spent in medical expense than I have in the 8 1/2 years I’ve owned him. 

But, as most pet-owners, I believe he is worth it.  He’s been with me through 4 moves, and lived with my brother & sister-in-law for a year.  I taught him how to use the toilet once, and, yes, he actually did it.  But only for a few weeks.  I don’t think he liked it, so he stopped, and being an indoor/outdoor cat, just started holding it until I let him outside, which was also fine with me.  I just didn’t want to deal with a litter box anymore. 

I’m bringing him up because I wanted to tell you how he decided to “help” me with my art project last week…so sweet – him taking an interest in my life.  He is actually usually pretty good about staying out of the way while I’m working, except for the time he stepped in oil paint and then continued walking through the house before I realized it and the time he started chewing on one of my smaller paint brushes, and broke it in two.  But really, he usually doesn’t take that much of an interest.  Not so with my latest project.  Apparently, my materials were intriguing to cat intellect. 

First, he was trying to sharpen his claws on the trim I bought for building my frame (as discussed in my Art Projects post).  This was, of course, dissuaded by me.  Then I had several sheets of tissue paper out, and he thought he needed one.  I gave him some newspaper to distract him, and put it across the room (although across the room is not very far in my house).  This worked for a few minutes.  Then, he decided that in addition to the pitcher on the kitchen floor, the bowl of water I had been rinsing my paint brushes in for two days was a good thing to drink out of.  Then, I had my painting laid out on the floor, and he thought he needed to get on it.  Repeatedly. 

I finally resorted to opening the linen closet, with which he has an obsession, and letting him get in there.  That worked until I got things to a point that I could pick them up off of floor.  I usually don’t let him get into the linen closet, because he likes to sleep behind the towels, and he has been mistakenly closed in there for full days more than once.   Besides the fact that I also do not like furry towels.

So, here are some pictures of my cat, further displaying his quirkiness:

As most cats do, he loves to get into boxes…mostly he likes to attack people from inside them.

7-7-04-009.jpg

And he likes to get into boxes even if he doesn’t fit into them…I tried to tell him.

boxleo3.jpg

Evidence of his obsession with the linen closet:

leo-towel1.jpg

He likes to sleep like this, but it looks like he has full-on rigormortis:

leoveg.jpg

And he thinks he is a person, and likes to sleep like this, using my headboard as a pillow…ok, ok, I made the bed up around him.  I couldn’t resist.  But otherwise, he really does sleep like this.

image041.jpg

And this is a pretty normal picture of him sleeping in the basket he usurped as his permanent bed after refusing at least 3 store-bought cat beds.  I thought he would get tired of it, but it’s been over 2 years now, and he still sleeps in it regularly.

img_0554.jpg

And that’s my cat.

4 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    August 28, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    Leo’s a fun kitty. I enjoyed reading about him even though I already knew most of what’s in the post. You should write about him more often.

  2. Kris said,

    August 28, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    I love your cat. You make me want to own a cat. Too cute. I’m a man! I’m not supposed to find things cute! Damn it, I’ve gotta go… fix a car… or something manly. Shoot something, I suppose.

    But I want a cat now… I can’t have one in the apartment, but I miss having a pet. I can honestly say I pour a lot of love into animals, and I’ve only met a few that didn’t love me right away. I’ll have to get a few later on.

  3. zephaniah317 said,

    August 29, 2007 at 11:53 am

    Sorry, C, I’m a dog person. When I call a pet, I like knowing that they’ll come to me. Very few cats I’ve met are like that.

    …does that make me a control freak? 🙂

  4. zephaniah317 said,

    August 29, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Got your comment. 😉

    I can’t stand the barkers, either. And, I require a fenced in backyard in order to own one (which I have…a fence, but no dog right now). So I’m with you, as well, about the freedom to leave them alone if necessary. My Shepherd-Lab mix was the best dog in the world, and he was outside most of the time. But, due to my size, I stay away from cute dogs. Just don’t match. 🙂

    Thanks for the random comment.


Leave a Reply

