Finito!

OK, sorry it’s been so long since I updated.  It’s been a while since my brain updated, too, so don’t feel left out.  I’ve been quite busy.  See, I took 5 days off one week, and then the following week, as Murphy’s Law denotes, of course, none of the people who usually require my random free-lance services seemed to need any services.  This resulted in an extra un-planned week off of work, which resulted in Connie scrambling to pay her bills.  It follows that in that state, when work is offered, you take it.  So, for that week I was down on cash, I scheduled every job that was thrown my way, with no regards for how many hours that meant I would be working in the following weeks.  I didn’t count, but it was a lot…for the next 2 weeks.  Then, this past week, I realized I had enough money again, so I didn’t book as much work, but my regular life had fallen into such disarray (shopping, errands, cleaning) by this point that I spent all of my extra time that week catching up.  Besides the fact that I also joined my boyfriend’s mom for a garage sale (meaning I had to go through everything I own, pack it, price it, etc.)  And so we come to today…I was supposed to sing on the worship team at church this morning, so I was supposed to show up at 8:30.  Well, I fell asleep at my babysitting gig last night (after the kids went to sleep as well, of course) with a scratchy throat and watery eyes.  It appears that I was not only exhausted, but getting sick.  I woke up this morning all stopped up and very tired (not at the babysitting gig…I did get up and come home when the parents arrived).  I “called in” to church…skipped out on the worship team.  I stayed home instead hoping that a day of nothing would restore my immune system.  I always get like this…I really am apparently not meant to over-work.  I don’t know how people do it.  I seriously cannot handle it mentally or physically. 

Wow, that was a really long and unnecessary explanation of where the heck I’ve been.  This blog is supposed to be about my completed art project that I have so neglected in unveiling for you.  We have these quarterly art shows here that anyone is allowed to enter a piece in, and so it was in that show this past Friday night.  These shows are not much of a sales venue.  Generally, only about 6-10 pieces out of 60-80 are sold.  So, I don’t feel bad that I’ve never sold a piece there.  It’s still fun. 

Here are a few pictures of my piece.  I was very pleased with the results…fun, yet somewhat sophisticated.  I was almost more excited about building the frame than about the artwork inside it.  But then the frame would be pointless without the art, so, by nature, it must still take second priority.  Anyway, the background of the piece is painted, but everything else on it is made out of tissue paper.

red-dress-form-smallest.jpg

red-dress-form-angled-smallest.jpg

And this is so you can see a close-up of my framin’ job.

red-dress-form-frame-smallest.jpg

1 Comment

  1. September 16, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    […] of other things I wanted to say.  However, none of them really made sense in the context of my first post of the day (which was already jumbled enough), so I decided that for the first time ever, you get 2 posts in […]


Leave a Reply

