Letting the Cabin Out of the Bag

I recently moved as you well know if you read my blog very often.  What you don’t know is that I moved to a cabin in the woods.  A ONE-ROOM cabin in the woods.  No walls creating comfy areas of privacy – just one room.  Even the shower just opens up into “the room”, although the toilet, thankfully, has its own cubby with walls and a door and everything.  “Why,” you may ask, “did you move to a one-room cabin in the woods?” 

There are several reasons. 

1) I just fell in love with it when I saw the cabin.  I had been toying with the idea of moving out into the country, so I drove around in an area that a friend recommended.  I drove around for over 2 hours and saw ONE “For Rent” sign.  This was it.  And it was it!  Once I saw it, I really was not interested in anything else.  When I talked to the landlord, he even came down on the rent for me.  (Well, technically went up just a few dollars, but threw in the utilities, essentially making it cheaper.)

2) I like the idea of learning how to be self-sufficient, i.e. growing my own food, maybe one day having chickens, etc.  There is also a well on the property which contributes to this possibility.  However, I am not in a position (nor do I want to) buy my own home.  The cabin is on quite a few acres of land with which the landlord is completely open to my doing whatever I want.  I would have the freedom and space to do those things.  The garden and the chickens will both be quite a process as they will have to be pretty well fenced and protected from other wildlife.  I think I can make the garden happen this spring.  I don’t think the chickens will be that quick, though…a coop has to be a little more secure to keep out mean predators than a garden fence does to keep out pesky ground hogs.  And apparently raccoons like to kill chickens for fun?  Who knew??

3) The cabin has a cat door (which has been previously mentioned in Going OUT the Door).  You can read that post to see why that was a draw for me, and for your quick update on that situation: my cat will use the door readily for necessities now, but he is still too scared to go outside for fun, which is sad, because he used to love going outside.  Now, he is literally sleeping and eating all the time and getting really fat.  I never had to worry about his food intake before because he got his exercise outside…I’m actually thinking I’m going to have to start portioning it!  I think he’s traumatized.  I know he wants to be outside because when I go outside, he goes outside.  But, when I come inside, he comes inside.  I guess I will just have to try to take frequent outings so that maybe he will muster up enough courage to go on his own.  My boyfriend and I walked around outside the other day, and figured out that my cat is terrified to go out in the field.  We were in the field, and he was standing on the edge of the tree-line yowling his “I’m scared, but I want to come out there with you” yowl.  He did finally make it, with much encouragement from us, and stopping at every noise he heard…you could see him weighing whether the risk was worth it.  Poor guy.  He didn’t used to be such a scaredy.  I think he was pretty much “top cat” most other places we’ve lived.  Rude awakening for a city cat, I suppose.

That was the long explanation of my reasons for moving to a one-room cabin in the woods.  There are other smaller reasons, but they are all to some capacity, encompassed in the ones listed.

And now that you know I live in a cabin, I will begin to tell you the cabin adventures I’ve been saving up.  But not today as this post is probably already too long.

5 Comments

  1. Kris said,

    December 4, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    Holy crap I am so jealous of you.

    Well, perhaps envious is a better term.

    But more importantly, holy crap!

    I’ve always thought a cabin in the woods would be the greatest thing ever.

  2. zephaniah317 said,

    December 4, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    I was watching “The Last Samurai” the other day, and every time I watch it, I sigh when I see how simple a life the Samurai lived, and how much they fought fiercely to protect it. I sighed again when I read your post. Good for you! Jealousy for me! 😉

  3. jody said,

    December 4, 2007 at 10:57 pm

    i’m will now call leo “scaredy cat”.

    but truthfully, maybe his fear is valid. there are big cat living in the woods, ones that could harm humans, let alone little cats. and don’t forget about cyotes and turkey buzzards.

  4. December 31, 2007 at 6:22 am

    […] Sleepless Ramblings) Tags: Cabin, Leaks, Mice, Mouse I told you a little about my cabin in “Letting the Cabin Out of the Bag,” so I figured that it was time to start sharing a little more.  Here are a couple of […]

  5. January 26, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    […] in a one-room Cabin creates the need for much room division.  Or at least it does for me.  This room divider is […]


Leave a Reply

