Cabin Adventures (aka “Tragic Mouse Tales”)

I told you a little about my cabin in “Letting the Cabin Out of the Bag,” so I figured that it was time to start sharing a little more.  Here are a couple of pictures of my little cabin in the woods.

cabin-closeup.jpg

cabin-far.jpg

There she is!  Well, as you can see, it really fits the bill for “Little Cabin in the Woods.”  And my experiences here so far readily verify this! 

One of the first fun things was the mice.  When I was cleaning out the kitchen cabinets before I began unpacking, I noted a significant amount of mouse droppings.  I wasn’t really surprised.  I mean, it’s in the woods, and I don’t know how long it had been since the last person lived here.  I cleaned very well, don’t worry.  AND I put down shelf liner.  Well, all of that took so long that I did not get to unpacking the kitchen on the same day.  So, the next day, when I began to put things on the shelves, I could not help but notice that there were NEW mouse droppings on TOP of the shelf liner.  Ahhh, so this makes it a little different.  It’s not left from past mice.  It’s current mice!  So, of course, I go and get some mouse traps.  (Sorry to all who are disturbed by this.)  I put them out in the shelf where I saw the new droppings, and in the two adjacent cabinets as well.  Three or four days passed.  No mice.  Hmmm.  Now, why would they be there the first night, and never again for four days?  Unless they are very smart mice, and know how to avoid multiple traps.  I was perplexed, but happy not to see or hear any more evidence of them. 

I should now mention that there was also a monstrous leak under the kitchen sink.  And when I say “leak,” I mean that all the water you ran through the faucet subsequently ran out of the ubend underneath.  ALL of it.  (Thankfully, this has since been repaired.)  So, I had a nice 5-Gallon bucket to catch the water, which had to be emptied frequently.  And one night, I am about to wash the dishes, and figure I should empty the bucket first.  I pulled the bucket out (you know where I am going with this, don’t you?), and thought, “What is that lump?  Nothing that big would fit down the drain.”  Of course, then I take a closer look, and realize that it is the carcass of a small, drowned mouse.  Ewwwwww.  Then as I am looking, yet another body floats lazily up beside the first.  DOUBLE ewwwww.  Two drowned mice in my leak-catching bucket.  Poor guys…the water in it probably smelled like food scrapings from dinners gone by.  Diving in expecting to find paradise, and…well, I needn’t continue.  The tragedy is apparent.  Shakespeare could do it justice.

On the upside, there has been no more evidence of mice.  Who needs traps?!

5 Comments

  1. zephaniah317 said,

    December 31, 2007 at 10:48 am

    And where was your cat during all this? Holding out for a bigger free-agent contract or something? 🙂

    Happy New Year…

  2. Mom said,

    December 31, 2007 at 10:17 pm

    Funny!

  3. tastethesea said,

    January 2, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Well, zeph, my cat, if I must be honest, is pretty much useless for any practical purposes. He might have tried to catch the mouse if I tied it to a string and ran around the house with it. Maybe. I’m not sure.

    Besides, he was still in full-blown cabin-trauma at that stage. 🙂

  4. ariahfine said,

    January 3, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    That is pretty gross.

    Have you thought about using your water from the sink to do a ‘gray’ water system? You can use it to garden or maybe flush your toilet (minus the mice of course).

  5. Wareq said,

    July 27, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Two drowned mice
    Two drowned mice
    See how they float
    See how they float
    They only wanted some water to drink
    They never thought they were going to sink
    And now they really are going to stink
    They’re two drowned mice!
    (I made that one up in the space of 15 minutes after a similar incident in 2003 involving a large bucket my dad put out next to our front deck as a water trough for our sheep.)


Leave a Reply

