The Window Wall

I think I’m in love with my latest art project.  My insomnia contributed to it getting much further along the other morning.  It is quite possibly the most fabulous room divider I have ever seen if I do say so myself.  And I do.  I could not finish it before I left for work the day I worked on it in the middle of the night, but even not quite finished, it was hard for me to tear myself away…I just wanted to sit across the room and look at it. 

Living in a one-room Cabin creates the need for much room division.  Or at least it does for me.  This room divider is between the living area and the bedroom area.  Although the bedroom area is still completely open to the kitchen area, I don’t plan on blocking that off.  I just wanted a little separation.  My only other room dividing projects are to block off the laundry area and then something curtain like for when I have guests who like to take showers in private.  Which would be everyone.  🙂  You would think I would have worked on the shower area first, only I’ve been waiting for my landlord to put the washer and dryer in because it would affect what I was going to do.  Now it’s all in, so I can begin formulating a plan.  But that’s for another post.

This post is about my super-fabulous living room/bedroom divider.  I finished it today, so you even get to see some pictures.  I’m not just going to tantalize you with telling you how great it is.  I know you would have lost sleep over that. 

This is, obviously, the living room side.  I have not even begun or conceptualized what I will do on the bedroom side yet.  I have had the idea for a room divider made out of old multi-paned windows for a couple of years, but never had any need for a room divider before now.  Funny how I created a thing in my head that I had no need for and now I need it, and happen to have a friend who remodeled his house, took all of these great windows down and gave them to me free! 

This room divider has been quite the process.  I’ve tried different things and changed it several times.  I filled the panes with 2 variations of what is up now that I did not like so I took them back down, and you are looking at the second piece of artwork for the center.

However, in some respects it was kind of a miracle that it all came together as nicely as it did.  Initially, I was thinking I would hang it from the ceiling and then I realized that it would be ridiculously heavy.  At least for hanging it from the ceiling.  So, I decided I needed to have some kind of posts on the end to support the weight, and just happened to run across some in a consignment store.  Who would have porch posts in a consigment store that are exactly what I need?  Well, apparently, Classic Consignment, because they did.  These posts were exactly the correct amount of worn out.  I don’t say “distressed” because that is when you do it on purpose; “worn-out” means it happened naturally  🙂  It also happened to be exactly the right heighth that I needed  Well, you wouldn’t think anyone would have that and I wasn’t even looking for them and they were just there staring at me.  And they were cheap, too.

Also, when I measured it out, the three windows on the bottom row plus the two posts came within an inch of where the carpet ends and the tile begins, making it exactly long enough to divide off the entire room area and not stop in an awkward place.  What are the chances?  I had not pre-planned the length at all.

So, then came the hardware.  The hardware store had exactly the number of hinges/brackets that I needed in each type that I needed.  I mean exactly.  I cleaned them out of the particular items that I was buying.  And then the screws…I did not count the screws, because there were over 200 screws needed for the brackets I bought.  So, I just grabbed a whole heck of a lot.  Guess what?  When I got down to the end, I started worrying I did not have enough screws because they were looking a little low.  So, I counted them.  I randomly grabbed EXACTLY the right number of screws for the hinges & brackets I bought.  Did I mention that there were over 200?  Again, what are the chances?  And I am not joking.  I know you think I am probably making that up or maybe I had one extra or something.  No, I seriously mean that I had my screw to bracket ratio exactly matched up.

Then came putting it together…the only uncanny thing during this process was that when I set the artwork over the three bottom windows to attach it to them (I had already attached them to each other), when I went to measure to get it centered, and I had randomly placed it exactly centered above them.  Exactly.  I didn’t have to move it a millimeter. 

So, then the only other thing I can think of worth mentioning is the corner brackets on the sides.  I have had those for several years without a use for them.  They came off of my parent’s porch.  I kept thinking they would be cool for something one day, but did not even have a plan in mind.  Well, I was going around some shops one day thinking I would get a finial or something to go on top of the posts to kind of finish it off, when I noticed some corner brackets they had at this one particular shop.  And it hit me.  I didn’t need finials.  I had those brackets that were, again, just old and worn out enough to match the style perfectly. 

I learned two things while creating this:

1) I really, REALLY need to invest in a drill.

2) Exacto-knives are my friends.

And voila!  There is my room divider! 

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

15 Comments

  1. Carol said,

    January 26, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    very cool. Thanks for sending. You’re right—it’s perfect.

  2. Eleanor said,

    January 27, 2008 at 2:11 am

    Lovin’ the birds! Can’t wait to see it in real life.

  3. stephanie said,

    January 27, 2008 at 10:32 am

    It’s beautiful…I understand the obsession to complete art projects. Hope all is well

  4. mary said,

    January 27, 2008 at 11:56 am

    It looks great. I know that you are pleased and worth the effort. The birds really finish it!

  5. marianne said,

    January 27, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    I so glad you finished! It looks so good…i like how you finished off your painting with the green “stencil”. looks great lady!

  6. Amy said,

    January 28, 2008 at 11:07 am

    Love it! It is even better than I imagined. Can’t wait to see it in person. It has an earthy and whimsical feel–both functional and fun! Your creativity continues to amaze me!

  7. Kim said,

    January 28, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    I think it looks great! Thanks for posting pictures so I can see it.

  8. Ariah Fine said,

    January 29, 2008 at 1:05 am

    That’s awesome!

  9. jody said,

    January 29, 2008 at 7:46 am

    WOW! that is fabulous!!!!! you need to throw a party so everyone can come see it! 🙂

  10. Ashley in DC said,

    February 16, 2008 at 5:05 am

    After assembling a room of IKEA furniture all by myself, I understand you divider was no small feat. I like it–hopefully I can get down to TN to see it sometime.

  11. Jessica Wheeler said,

    February 28, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Thank you for sending me the link. This is even more amazing that I expected! You are truly talented and I can’t wait to tell the world (or at least Murfreesboro) about you.

  12. Tricia Hastings said,

    February 29, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    Truly Beautiful Connie! You continue to amaze me with your many talents. It is such a fun piece because it is so tranquil, yet so interesting ..and fabulously functional. WAY TO GO! thanks for sharing!

  13. Cole and Max said,

    February 29, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    ” Sweet Connie- your so sweet to share your wall with us. it is beautiful. i love it. xoxo” cole (6) and max (4)

  14. March 8, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    […] of the windows for my window wall were given to me by a friend who remodeled his […]

  15. Ariah Fine said,

    March 12, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Just came over from your generosity post and had to say again your window wall is great


Leave a Reply

