Talk About a Bad Day

This is actually a story about something that happened last summer, but it was such an unbelievable series of unfortunate events, I decided I had to write about it.

I was working for my catering boss, and we did not have an event, so we were just in the office at her house.  She got a phone call from the bank telling her that one of her accounts was overdrawn, which was impossible because she had plenty of money in that account.  She was just getting it figured out that she was a victim of identity theft when her husband came in and said he was trying to load one of the cars up on the trailer to take it to the shop, but he needed help steering while he pushed it up off of the grass onto the driveway.  Well, she had just entered freak-out mode, and said, “I can’t do that right now!”  So, she’s calling the bank back and I went down to help her husband with the car thing.  The car was not running (hence the trip to the shop), so he pushed, while I steered it up onto the driveway.  He had a truck down the driveway a bit with the trailer hooked up to the back of it, and because their driveway is on a slope, he was able to position the truck & trailer so that he could just coast the car up onto the trailer.  I thought that was pretty clever.  We got it up onto the driveway, and then he asked if I would go sit in the truck and hold the brake down to make sure it did not shift when the car hit the trailer.  So, I did, and his plan worked brilliantly…coasted right onto the trailer, no problem.  I’m walking back up to the house when I hear muffled yelling and banging on the car window.  His plan DID have a flaw.  He did not take into consideration that the trailer had rails on the side, and was now unable to open the door wide enough to get out of the car.  Ummm, uh-oh.  Did I mention it was the middle of summer?  90+ degrees.  And he is neither particularly young, nor particularly small.  A bad combo for being stuck in a car in mid-summer with the windows rolled up.  And of course, the battery was also dead in addition to the car’s other problems, and he could not just roll the power windows down.  It was also not positioned in such a way that you would be able to pull a car beside it to jump it off…the driveway is surrounded by brush at that point.  So, we formulate a plan.  He tells me there is one of those free-standing car battery jumper things in the basement.  He tells me approximately where it is, but in their barely navigable basement, that was still no easy task.  I finally found it, and one of the wheels was broken off, so I had to carry this heavy thing about 100 feet down the driveway to where the car was.  OK, we’re making progress, but it has to be plugged into an outlet to work, so now begins the search for multiple extension cords that will reach that far down the driveway.  I knew where one was in the house, so I ran in to get it, and I also had one in my trunk.  Still not long enough, so he has to tell me where another one is in the basement…another task of de-burying it and following it to find the other end.  At about this point, my catering boss starts calling me incessantly on my cell phone because she is still freaking out about her money and is wondering what is taking me so long.  I decided that getting her husband out of the car was more important, so I just ignored it.  I get everything hooked up to the car battery, charge it up, and he’s able to roll the windows down.  Success!  I have to admit that I was a little worried about the climbing out the window situation based on the facts I mentioned above about him, but he made it happen.  Whew.  Now, I know that worst come to worst, we could have broken a window.  Of course, that was not the most desirable option. 

Anyway, I go back inside and my boss is wondering where the heck I’ve been so I just tell her I was busy saving her husband’s life (OK, OK, I know that’s a bit dramatic).  So now, she has to go to the bank to get everything sorted out.  But in the meantime, she has paid a dental bill that morning with a check that is now going to bounce because of this issue.  She called the place, and they said as long as she brought some other form of payment by 3PM, it would not be a problem.  Since it was looking like our day was not going to be productive work-wise, she just asked if I would just leave early and pay it for her on my way home so that she could get to the bank.  No problem.  So, she leaves, and her husband is now gone with the truck, trailer & car.  I get in my car with her other check to take to the dentist, and my car won’t start.  Nothing.  Well, now that I know where the battery charger is, I go get it and try that out.  Still nothing.  It is after 2PM at this point, and I have to be at the dentist with her check by 3.  It takes 30 minutes to get there.  I made the call just to take one of her catering vans, pay her bill and then come back to deal with my car.  So, that’s what I did and I bought a new battery on the way back to her house.  I got there with it and changed it myself even though I had no idea what I was doing.  She got home in the meantime, and then the police came to take a report from her while I was changing the battery.  He looked at me a little crazy. 

Man, was I relieved when I left her house that day.  It was stress-central!  But then to top it off, on my way home, I opened the sun-visor in my car while the windows were down in my car (my air conditioning doesn’t work), only to have the FM transmitter for my mp3 player, which I had sitting above the sun-visor, fly out the window on the interstate.   Thankfully, it was not hooked up to the mp3 player at the time or they both would’ve gone.

And THAT was a really bad day.

4 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    February 7, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    It’s a good thing we don’t have those kinds of days very often! I don’t think I could endure that kind of stress on a regular basis.

  2. zephaniah317 said,

    February 8, 2008 at 8:31 am

    Wow…under the category of “how many things can go wrong at once?” I agree with your mom…can’t have too many of those, although I’d much prefer a stressful day like that over one at the office totally related to job-things (deadlines, stuff like that).

  3. Ariah Fine said,

    February 15, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    wow, that is impressively bad

  4. Ashley in DC said,

    February 16, 2008 at 4:57 am

    1) Hahahahahaha. Oh. My. Word.

    2) Having worked for the particular caterer lady too, I am SO sorry that happened, but I am really glad I was not there to witness the freak-out.

    3) Your story put my crappy day at the office in perspective.

    Come see me in DC. I see The Loft is playing in Annapolis, MD in May…


Leave a Reply

