Sadness

I am writing this post, because I saw something that made me sad.  I saw an article about a man who is suing a few publishers of the Bible for “emotional distress” because of its disapproval of homosexuality.

I am usually more saddened by cases of people within the homosexual lifestyle than many other things because in this particular instance, this is where those people feel like they receive love and acceptance.  They are not out doing it because it is fun or in order to get under someone else’s skin – they just want to be loved.  I’m not condoning it – I still believe it is wrong, but for the most part, the typical Christian’s reaction to it just drives them farther away from where REAL love and acceptance comes from. 

Having said that, here is what I think about this particular lawsuit:

The Bible is a book which delineates, in many different areas of life, right from wrong.  We can all agree that people everywhere have a different idea of what right is.  This is why we have wars, why we have different political parties, etc.  Most people are not out to do something because they think it is the wrong thing, unless they are sociopathic.  But, to presume you should be able to live in a world where no one’s disapproval of your own explanation of right can touch you in any way is to call for a totalitarian world that is able to tell you how to think and what to say.  If this is how things should work, then there should be NO books written about how to do right as opposed to wrong in any category, i.e. health, raising children, etc.  Because you cannot have a book about doing right without at the very least inferring what is wrong, and, apparently, you cannot say anything about someone else’s wrong behavior unless no one in the world would be offended by what they may be doing wrong.  As you can see, this is clearly impossible.  I could sue a doctor for writing a book in which he states that drinking coffee is the worst thing you can do for your health if it makes me feel like a bad person.  Indeed, I should sue the Bible, because it says that liars are sinners, and I have definitely lied in my lifetime. 

One of the main points of the Bible is that we are ALL sinners – it says it outright.  And then it offers God’s forgiveness and redemption from that.  So, I will be the first to tell you, if the thought of being called a sinner causes you emotional distress, then the Bible and its publishers are the people to sue.  Because it includes YOU.  And me.  And your neighbor. 

I have discussed in previous posts how the ideas of “equal” vs. “same” have been confused in our society, and this is another severe indicator.  We, as a culture, think we are being tolerant when we ask everyone to agree with everyone else.  This is not tolerant to anyone except for those with the pervasive political and socially accepted viewpoints.  Those who vary from that have to keep their mouths shut for fear of being dubbed politically incorrect.  Our country was not founded on the principle that everyone must believe the same things.  It was founded on the idea that we should recognize the differences in people, and be able to love them anyway, live shoulder to shoulder with them anyway. 

I want people in all walks of life to be able to feel love from me, because that is what God asks us to do, but this does not mean that I condone every act each of them performs.  I hope that we can all recognize that, and respect that a world where people are allowed to point out their idea of right from wrong (whether I agree with it or not), is the only way to keep a society from total anarchy.  You calling me out for disapproving of homosexuality is exactly the same as me calling you out because I think homosexuality is wrong.  You have the right to tell me that you think my disapproval is incorrect; please respect my First Amendment right to speak what I believe is right as well. 

It is a basic idea – if you have a child, you do not love it by letting it do whatever it wants to without explaining to it the consequences of poor decisions, training it to know what will hurt it and what will not – “Don’t touch that stove – it will burn you; Don’t have sex before you are married – it hurts your heart, and exposes you to other, possibly serious and dangerous, consequences.”  You get the idea.  Clearly, disapproval of actions does not have to equal hatred.

I’m sure from this, I could be dubbed a gay-basher, and I assure you that is far from the truth.  No more than I am a basher of those living in bitterness, because I wish they would come out of it – or a basher of those living in alcoholism because I wish they would get free.

I have gay friends, and although each of them know my stance on it, I believe they could say that they have never felt my love for them waver.

Hatred of any people is against the tenets of the Bible – but real love can continue to love, even when it does not agree with actions.  I am sorry that Christians themselves have also attached themselves to the belief that love=approval and vice versa.  It does not, and was never meant to.

3 Comments

  1. July 12, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Great writing. I think people will be more understood through loving with all we have.

    Grace and Peace to you,
    Rod

  2. Lucy Lowe said,

    July 12, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    I’m an atheist and think there’s nothing remotely wrong with living a homosexual lifestyle but I found your post very fair and would have to say I agree with you on a lot of points here. I also think the World ought to be big enough for believers and non-believers to get along in.
    Anyway, have a lovely day 🙂

  3. Amy said,

    July 15, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Bravo!


Leave a Reply

