On a Bad Day…

OK, so most of the people who know me are aware that I am, ahem…forthright.  On a good day, this is generally an asset for me.  On a bad day, it sometimes gets me in trouble, i.e. my bluntness makes people mad at me, and thereby my bad day just gets worse.  But yesterday the opposite happened.

I was at deli with some friends, ordering a sandwich that was $6.35.  I’m thinking this is pretty expensive for a sandwich and I had already had a somewhat frustrating day.  So, after I ordered it, the following conversation ensued:

Me: “What comes with that?”

Deli Guy: “Chips and a pickle.”

Me: “Can I get something besides chips?”

Deli Guy: “Yes.  For 99 cents, you can get pasta…”

Me (interrupting): “What if I don’t want to pay 99 cents?” (You know, I’m already thinking I’m paying an awful lot for a sandwich.)

Deli Guy: “Then you get chips.”

Me: “What if I don’t want chips?”

Deli Guy: “Then I won’t give you chips.”

Me: “Am I still paying for the chips?”

Deli Guy: “Yes.”

Me: “So, I have to get the chips or I’m paying for nothing?”

Deli Guy: “Yes.”

Me: “Give me the chips.”  But before I moved on, I added, “I’m sorry.  I’m just grouchy.  It’s not your fault.”

So, we went and sat down and ate.  The deli had slowed down a bit by now and we were in conversation, when all of a sudden a hand appears in front of me with a bowl of fruit.  I look up, and it’s the deli guy.  He sets it down, and says, “I hope your day gets better,” and disappears.

And my day did get better, thanks to him.

1 Comment

  1. Ariah Fine said,

    September 22, 2008 at 9:14 am

    that is sweet. There is hope for the world.


Leave a Reply

