Happies

So, I mentioned in my post “A Mission Statement with a Mission” that I’d included some sort of “Easter Eggs” in my client information sheets. These information sheets are distributed to our employees when they are cleaning a house, and include directions, etc. I decided I wanted a reminder in there that there was more to life than work, and so started including what I call “Happies.”

Happies are things such as:

  • Smile at a stranger today!
  • Be kind to someone who doesn’t deserve it!
  • Think about the last time you couldn’t stop laughing…and laugh again!

I know they are silly, and probably mostly looked over as such. However, they’ve had an unexpected effect. I wrote them in order to impact my employees. I wanted them to feel like humans, not rats in a rat-race, but I’m quite sure now that the person it’s impacted most is ME.

The effect it had is hardly measurable. Ever since the day I wrote all of these things (about three months ago) into my client sheets (of which there are around fifty), I have wanted to DO all fifty of the things I wrote. It’s had a major impact on the way I interact with friends, loved ones, and strangers alike. It’s influenced how I feel about the work I do, and how far I’m willing to go to help someone else even when it inconveniences me.

This is not to say that I have become perfect at this or that I am living with a Pollyanna mindset. I still have quite unsavory thoughts at times, and am NOT always happy to go the extra mile. But if I were to take a percentage of the times I responded negatively before I wrote these items out and the times I responded negatively after I wrote them, I can tell you I am certain the percentage would’ve dropped dramatically.

It gives me pause when I feel like letting someone have it when I think: “Forgive someone who doesn’t deserve it. You’re not doing it for them, you’re doing it for you. Forgiveness is the beginning of healing.” Or better yet, when I won’t let myself off the hook (which is more frequent): “Forgive yourself for that dumb thing you did that time. (You know the one.) We all have them.”

A few semi-cheesy maxims written one day for the purpose of employee morale reminded me who I wanted to be and what was important.

Leave a Reply

