The More You Write, The More…

Let’s finish that sentence together:

The More You Write, The More…

…ideas you get.

…excited you get about writing.

…the more intricate your story gets.

…the more your story changes.

Do you have any other ways that you could finish that sentence?

I got started yesterday on my second book in what I may end up making a series of unknown length. I had fleshed out a partial outline, and pondered how to begin. I have learned that if I am not excited about the way I have planned for the story to go, that I should wait until I have an idea that I am excited about. This means that I spend whatever time I would writing actively musing over various ways to begin.

When I finally had an idea that excited me, I started writing, and it almost immediately changed all of the outline I had written. I did not negate it, but it largely relegated it to backstory and put my story a few years further into the future than I’d thought I was going to.

I also believed I was writing the first chapter, but realized after getting it down that I had just written the prologue, which I wasn’t even sure I was going to do.

I had trouble taking my own advice about not re-working sentences as I went, and totally forgot to time my word count once I got going, so I’m on a slow start to my goals. It’ll take some time to adjust to doing things differently, but I did get my first 1,000 words written, so at least I’m off the starting line now!

It was nice to realize that I did not feel hemmed in by the outline. I was worried that it may give me too rigid a form to stay within, but I think I enjoy letting the story take me where it will enough that the outline feels like an option, but not hard line in the sand. I think it will be more difficult for me to use the outline at all! But fleshing out what is now, as I said, mostly backstory, feels like it will make my writing richer in the end. Of course, now I have to spend some time creating an outline with some forward motion! There are a few components left to use, but a lot of blanks left!

Leave a Reply

